Reflecting for the new year

Last new years was the very best I have ever had, in all my 33 years. I was with good people + my one love (which is rare as he’s doesn’t see it as anything more than a regular day). Needless to say, I had an amazing time.

But then the 12 months to follow were truly the worst. Ever. Even compared to the Christmas I had my appendix removed, and spent the holidays in + out of the hospital. 2011 can go to ?$&@!* itself.

Did you ever hear that saying “the way you break in the new year sets the tone for the year to follow” ? So how does that work?

My only theory is that the night cam ne a starting point, but you have to make it happen. You have to do a little work to carry it through. December 2010 was something new for both of us as that December we spent more time together than any of the years prior. We actually shopped together,planned together.. and that new years parties together. We were like kids again – high five to that puppy love feeling. But as the new day began, everything started to fall apart again.  We let things go right back to the way they were – the comfortable routine, stupid arguments, withholding real feelings. I see now we should have tried harder to continue what was started that December.

I believe in magical moments, fate and true-love. Silly, I know. But try as I might, I can’t stop. I still believe I will have a fairy-tale ending to this life I live…

Therefore my new years goal is not only to spent the ending of a bad year with those I appreciate, but to hold onto everything I’ve learned, and try harder to make my dreams come true in 2012.

… plus 12 is one of my lucky numbers – that’s gotta count for something right?

Leave a Reply

