Family time: Silliness at the Santa Claus parade

its that time again, and even though there is no snow (thankfully) we are in the loving happy holiday spirit once again.

image

A lot has changed since this time last year. Along the way, I realized I had become so wrapped up in my own thoughts that I was totally oblivious to everything happening around me, moving through the motions, but not paying any attention to what was happening around me. I could be in the same room with my family, but never really see or hear them; nodding my head as if i were listening, responding occasionally with “uh-huh” or “oh yeah?” … but ask me later what happened and i hadn’t a clue.  I blamed it on a reeeally bad memory, but it i just wasn’t paying attention. At all.

Suddenly, one day, I heard the truly funny jokes spewing from my daughter’s rambling mouth; I saw her art; I read her stories…. amazing. brilliant. and i had been missing it all.

The moment i started appreciating all of these things, i started feeling better. And this made me realize another thing. A long time ago a friend used to make bad jokes when i was blue… and i HATED it. but now… now after all this, i realized they too may have also been brilliant. Laughter IS the best medicine. Better than anything a doctor can prescribe; Better than anything a therapist can advise.

My baby girl’s laughter is my fuel in life, and for this reason, i vowed to make sure my baby laughs every day.

… return to present day, and here we sit at the Kitchener Santa Claus parade. Now, normal people would just sit and watch, but as we just determined, neither of us are normal. Some where along the way we started playing this game… filling in speech for the costumed characters, as they walked about oblivious to our silliness. Stories of what they were thinking, where they were before the parade, and where they were going after.

image

like this tree… She was taking too much time fixing her “baubles” and decorating her dress that she was running out of time. Which is precisely when she realized all her shoes were missing. In a panic (because Santa would be super mad if she was late for this big show) she jumping into some boxes, wrapped and decorated them.. and ran out the door.

sigh. My girl’s a total nut. She’s just like I used to be when I was younger — before someone told me i was embarrassing to be with (stupid high school) … and i think she’s amazing. But that is a whole other story. Today I simply promise I will make sure she never changes for anyone but herself.

Here are some other shots of our silly fun day…

image

Best little fire truck, although bee says it would be less than helpful.

image

i WANT these shoes… and I’m sure i saved something on pinterest about how to do it!! I’m going to. someday.

image

mini market on wheels… this I’m going to make for myself and drive around with my mobile store … and have one of those megahorn’s on the roof, like they do on old fashioned ice cream trucks … and I can shout “u rock, and that’s all that matters!!” and then we can all hold hands, and sing in perfect harmony. grow apple trees and honey bees…

image

City of Waterloo float… just gorgeous!

image

this one i took because the shoe itself it made from SPRAY FOAM. brilliant. paintable. and easier I’m sure.

image

image

Photo specifically for the antlers. My car has told me it WANTS these.. it really does.

image

great old truck!!

image

funny full cart of elves

image

Kitchener’s float — replication of the new tower in Victoria Park.

image

image

Not sure what chariots have to do with christmas… perhaps they fell into a black hole, and they also have no idea what they are doing here.

image

image

image

image

funny mini jeep. no story… just funny lol.

image

ooh, swaying in the wind we imagined this beaver was singing “if your happy and you know it clap your hands” when he realized … his arms were just too short.

image

and this, I told the kid, was what all kids were given when they first move out — its a house and a car all in one. there is a super tiny door at the back which i joked would be where her head would have to go because she’s so tall, only her body would fit inside the box. She said “no way mom. daddy already said I get the civic” … ha. well then.

image

best band… because they too were in pure silly style.

image

image

image

suped-up go cart? bling-bling fancy 4-wheeler??

image

best float EVER!! they converted a 4 wheeler into a train adding steel barrels for the engine and cars, fancy roof and even the metal rail things that look like they are pushing the wheels around.

image

… best ever.

image

and this was the BIGGEST band ever.

image

it kept going…

image

and going

image

and going!!

image

and then Santa came!!

One thought on “Family time: Silliness at the Santa Claus parade

  1. Oooh seeing your pictures makes me sad I missed the parade today. It looked wonderful. And I loved Bee’s silly stories…that is exactly what me and my girls would be doing. You are the perfect mom for your little girl…I love how you enjoy her and encourage her to be herself. You rock!!!

Leave a Reply

