I can cook! Slightly healthy chocolate mudpies

I found this recipe for healthy chocolate + banana mudpies by way of my unfortunate pinterest obsession … but after mixing all the ingredients (bananas, applesauce, peanut butter, cocoa) I was concerned they were too bland to interest anyone in this house. Rather than toss the mix, and waste food, I was going to attempt a revamp of the recipe… But I’ve never been successful in doing this before so I was a little skeptical.

I remembered, as a kid, my mom made the best chocolate mudpies… using about 15 bags of chocolate! No. I’m exaggerating. It was just a box of bakers chocolate 🙂 but they were amazing. I would still hove anything to eat a whole Tupperware full today. On occassion, mom had me help, probably so I could make them myself one day, but sadly, all I recall is the chocolate melting part. Luck have it, today that’s all I need.

Baking is still rather new to me so I had to improvise on both my ingredients and the tools. I knew to gently melt chocolate I had to heat the chips slowly or they would burn and dry up. I placed my glass measuring cup inside a pot of water on the stove at the lowest setting (saw mom do this once) and I tossed in about 1 1/2 cups of milk chocolate chips.

image

As they melted I added about 1/4 cup cream cheese (i would have used milk, but I forgot to buy some). It was looking a little dry, especially since I needed to add this to the original mix, so I added a few spoonfuls of unsweetened applesauce … and it was magic. Amazing melty chocolate magic. I poured it over the original mixture, and stired with all my might. Here I followed the recipe once again, baking them at 350 for 10 min.

image

And I’m a genius!! they are delicious!

Not sure where they sit on the health scale, thanks to the addition of the chocolate chips and cream cheese, but the original healthy bits ARE still in there.

image

And that’s got to count for something, right?!

UPDATE: just dawned on me coconut oil may have been better than the cream cheese – definitely healthier! Oh well. Next time.

Leave a Reply

